Love is us.


“To find someone who will love you for no reason, and to shower that person with reasons, that is the ultimate happiness.”

-Robert Brault.
In appreciation to a special woman in my life i wrote and re wrote an entire post in a bid to express myself, i ended up posting the poem below.

This special woman is my wife, a lady who came and took me from nothing to something. I mean, turning me from a lanky 62kg lad to a 75kg gentleman in less than a year is no mean task!

But weight is not the issue here. The ultimate joy is having a spouse who reads and anticipates your every move and thought, translates your faux smiles concealing pain, hurt and mixed emotions and offers a shoulder not necessarily to cry on but to lay some of your worries.

Leyla, wife dear, the best gift Allah has granted me and definetely the best event of my life. I know am not the perfect hubby; i get too addicted to my writings and musings and i just might be a tad sarcastic. Either way beyond this superficiality lies a heart that loves you to bits and a man who misses you to shreds everytime he is away from home.

“A great marriage isn’t something that just happens; it’s something that must be created.”

-Fawn Weaver

My way of saying and showing that i love you may not be as per kawaida expectations, but this is just who i am. I appreciate your patience, your endless, unconditional love and take this from me: I have never felt this loved and appreciated before in my life…..i donno, it just feels splendid being loved this way.

And i have a firm conviction that even if the world had me in a corner dealing nasty blows and uppercuts, you would still stick in my corner with a white towel wiping off the sweat, pain and blood. If all else fails am pretty sure you will jump into the ring and fight my battles.

You would do that i know.

So, i failed to come up with a good enough blog post but accept this copied poem from me. It really is difficult putting together something for someone who means so much to me; words are not adequate!

Like the warmth of the morning sun,
So do thoughts of you embrace me,
Revealing how alive I am

A glorious light of the new day,
so is your presence in my life,
relieving it of its shadows,
and marking the start of a new beginning

– Kolapo Olufunke –

2 thoughts on “Love is us.

share your thoughts

